Incumbent parties retain Texas Senate Districts 21 and 25 seats

Posted: 1:14 CST

With all of the polls reporting in their respective districts, incumbent Democrat Judith Zaffirini has been reelected in the Texas Senate Distrit 21 race, and Republican Donna Campbell has won the open District 25 seat.

Zaffirini took 67.63 percent of the vote in her district while Republican challenger Grant Rostig tallied 29.17 percent and Libertarian Joseph Morse earned 3.20 percent, according to unoficial results. Zaffirini has held the District 21 seat since 1992.

In District 25, Campbell won with 65.59 percent compared with 34.41 percent for Democrat John Courage. Campbell defeated incumbent Sen. Jeff Wentworth in a July primary runoff election.

"This election shows that the voters of the district want a senator who isn't a politician, but an everyday citizen who shares their values," Campbell said. "I will make sure that families and small businesses have a strong conservative voice in Austin."

Posted: 10:10 p.m. CST

Democratic incumbent Judith Zaffirini has built a commanding lead in the race for Texas Senate District 21 while in District 25, Republican Donna Campbell is pulling ahead of Democrat John Courage, according to early results.

With 85 of 315 precints reporting in District 21, Zaffirini has earned 65.97 percent of the vote, with 31.19 percent going towards Republican Grant Rostig and 2.85 percent for Libertarian Joseph Morse.

In District 25, with 141 of 301 precints reporting, Campbell has recorded 66.45 percent of the vote with Courage earning 33.55 percent.

Posted: 7:49 p.m. CST

According to unofficial early polling results, incumbent Democrat candidate Judith Zaffirini is leading Republican candidate Grant Rostig and Libertarian candidate Joseph Morse in the race for the Texas Senate District 21 seat. In the District 25 state Senate race, Democrat John Courage is holding a narrow lead over Republican Donna Courage.

In District 21, Zaffirini leads with 77.83 percent of the vote to Rostig's 17.5 percent, and Morse's 4.66 percent. Courage leads the District 25 race with 50.80 percent of the vote versus 49.19 percent for Campbell.

Zaffirini, a communications specialist from Laredo, has held the state Senate District 21 seat since 1992. The district was redrawn this year and now encompasses an area bounded by South Austin, Laredo on the Texas-Mexico border and Portland off of the Gulf of Mexico.

The District 25 Senate seat was left open when Campbell defeated incumbent Sen. Jeff Wentworth in a July primary runoff election by a nearly 2-to-1 margin. Wentworth had previously held the seat since being elected in 1994.

Campbell is a physician from New Braunfels who ran unsuccessfully against eight-term Democratic incumbent Lloyd Doggett for Texas' 25th Congressional District in 2010. Courage is an educator from San Antonio.

State Senate District 25 covers all or parts of Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Hays, Kendall and Travis counties.