It is almost time to spring forward. Daylight saving time 2020 begins at 2 a.m. local time on Sunday, March 8, meaning clocks will be set to 3 a.m. at that point.

Contrary to popular opinion, daylight saving time does not last for half the year. Rather, it stretches approximately eight months and will come to an end on Sunday, Nov. 1. It has been that way since 2007, when Congress declared that daylight saving time begins in the United States on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.

The observance is often misidentified as "daylight savings time" with an extra "S," but its name comes from the idea of saving daylight.

That being said, daylight saving time is not observed the same way—or at all—in some parts of the country. The Uniform Time Act of 1966 standardized time zones and daylight saving practices around the United States, but it allowed individual states to pass laws exempting themselves.

From ABC 13