See what counties qualify for Disaster Employment Assistance from the Texas Workforce Commission

The water in Cypress Creek almost reached the top of the Stuebner Airline Road bridge in Spring on Tuesday.

The water in Cypress Creek almost reached the top of the Stuebner Airline Road bridge in Spring on Tuesday.

According to a release from this morning, the Texas Workforce Commission is accepting applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance in 11 additional counties—including Harris, Fort Bend and Montgomery counties—as a result of severe weather caused by Hurricane Harvey.

An official amendment has been made to the Presidential Disaster Declaration, allowing individuals whose employment or self-employment was affected by the hurricane to apply for DUA by Sept. 29. People who live in, work in or travel through the following counties may now apply for DUA:

  • Colorado

  • Fayette

  • Hardin

  • Jasper

  • Jefferson

  • Montgomery

  • Newton

  • Orange

  • Sabine

  • San Jacinto

  • Waller

The following counties were already allowed to apply for DUA and must turn in applications by Sept. 27:

  • Aransas

  • Bee

  • Brazoria

  • Calhoun

  • Chambers

  • Fort Bend

  • Galveston

  • Goliad

  • Harris

  • Jackson

  • Kleberg

  • Liberty

  • Matagorda

  • Nueces

  • Refugio

  • San Patricio

  • Victoria

  • Wharton

To receive DUA benefits, all required documentation must be submitted within 21 days from the day the DUA application is filed. Required documentation includes a Social Security number, a copy of the most recent federal income tax form or check stubs, or documentation to support that you were working or self-employed when the disaster occurred.

Applicants must mail in or fax all required documentation within 21 days from the date of the DUA application.

Individuals should specify that their applications are related to the damage caused by Hurricane Harvey. DUA is available to individuals who:

  • Have applied for and used all regular unemployment benefits from any state, or do not qualify for unemployment benefits

  • Worked or were self-employed or were scheduled to begin work or self-employment in the disaster area

  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of the disaster

  • Establish that the work or self-employment they can no longer perform was their primary source of income

  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury as a direct result of the disaster

  • Became the breadwinner or major support of a household because of the death of the head of household

Job seekers may visit local Workforce Solutions offices for access to job-search resources, job postings and training programs, as well as assistance with exploring career options, resume and application preparation, career development and more. Many Houston-area locations are closed until Sept. 5. Call locations ahead of time to check on daily hours:

By Beth Marshall
Born and raised in Montgomery County, Beth Marshall graduated from The University of Texas at San Antonio in 2015 with a bachelor's degree in communication and a minor in business. Originally hired as a reporter for The Woodlands edition in 2016, she became editor of the Sugar Land/Missouri City edition in October 2017.