Area representatives received their committee assignments following State Speaker of the House Dennis Bonnen’s announcement Jan. 23.

According to a press release, Bonnen met with representatives to discuss their interests and committee preferences over the past several weeks. The assignments were made based on seniority and preferences.

The press release indicates there are nine members on each committee, and the total number of committees has been reduced from 38 to 34.

“I believe these committee assignments will allow every member to represent his or her district and bring the member’s individual strengths to the table,” Bonnen said in a statement.

Representatives in The Woodlands are serving the following committees:

Cecil Bell, Jr. R-Montgomery and Waller—District 3
• Appropriations
• Land and Resource Management

Steve Toth, R-Montgomery—District 15
• Appropriations
• Culture, Recreation and Tourism

Valoree Swanson, R-Harris—District 150
• Elections
• Urban Affairs

A complete list of state representatives and their committees can be found at

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick made appointments to the State Senate committees for upcoming legislature Jan. 18.

State Senator Paul Bettencourt, R-Houston, was named chairman of the newly formed Senate Committee on Property Tax, Senate Finance Committee and Higher Education Committee.

State Senator Brandon Creighton, R-Beaumont, has been appointed as chairman of the Higher Education Committee, vice chair of the Senate Committee on Water and Rural Affairs, and to the Senate Committees on Business and Commerce, State Affairs and Property Tax.

To view a full list of Texas Senate committees, visit