Sugar Land residents who want to help review and influence legislative agenda can apply for the city’s new task force.

The big picture

At a March 19 meeting, Sugar Land City Council approved creating a Legislative Citizen Task Force for the 89th Texas Legislature in 2025.

The task force will be composed of 13 members representing different aspects of the community, including business owners, school districts and homeowners, Intergovernmental Relations Manager Rick Ramirez said. The committee is on a volunteer basis, and members will be selected via an application process.

“This gives us a more well-rounded approach to being able to figure out how our legislative agenda may impact our community and region as a whole,” Ramirez said.

According to agenda documents, task force members will be responsible for:
  • Reviewing the city’s current legislative position statements and providing feedback on needed changes to reflect community perspective
  • Providing a citizen perspective in discussions with other task force members, city staff and city partners
  • Making recommendations on the state legislative agenda for the 89th Texas Legislature for City Council consideration
  • Serving as an advocate for the community during the legislative session
Get involved

Applications opened March 20 for the task force and will close on April 10, Ramirez said. Those interested can apply by completing the application on the city’s volunteer portal.

Those eligible to apply include:
  • Local business owners (three members)
  • Homeowners (two)
  • Those serving on another Sugar Land board and/or commission (two)
  • A Sugar Land 101 graduate or current student (one)
  • A local homeowner association representative (one)
  • Fort Bend County staff representative (one)
  • Fort Bend ISD staff representative (one)
  • Lamar Consolidated ISD staff representative (one)
  • Student representative (one)
Next steps

Once applications close April 10, the committee will be selected and will be appointed June 4 at a City Council meeting, Ramirez said. The committee's service will then run from June 2024-December 2025.