Meet the candidates running for district positions in Missouri City City Council


Ten Missouri City candidates have officially applied for a place on the ballot to run for City Council’s A, B, C and D district positions.

Residents can still declare their candidacy as a write-in candidate until Aug. 23. Then both ballot candidates and write-in candidates have until Aug. 26 to decide if they want to withdraw from the election and have their name removed, according to city documents.

Those who have applied for a position on the ballot include:

District A
Reginald B. Pearson, incumbent
Cheryl Sterling, retired educator

District B
Jeffrey Boney, incumbent
JaPaula Kemp, attorney and Missouri City tax increment reinvestment zone board member

District C
Anthony G. Maroulis, incumbent
Sam Chatriwala, engineering consultant
Raj Joseph, lecturer
Steve Okoroha, attorney

District D
Floyd Emery, incumbent
Cindy Forney, self-employed

Closer to the election, Community Impact Newspaper will provide more information on the candidates and their positions on issues affecting Missouri City.

Campaign timeline:
Aug. 23: last day for a write-in candidate to declare candidacy
Aug. 26: last day for a ballot candidate and write-in candidate to withdraw from the election and have name removed
Sept. 21: first day candidate political signs may be posted
Nov. 5: Election Day

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Christine Hall
Christine Hall joined Community Impact Newspaper in October 2018, and covers Missouri City and Fort Bend ISD. She previously reported on health care innovation for the Texas Medical Center, was a freelancer, and held various news roles at the Houston Business Journal.
Back to top