Editor's note: This list is not comprehensive. Ballots vary by location.

Statewide candidates

Democratic Party

U.S. senator

  • Sema Hernandez

  • Edward Kimbrough

  • Beto O’Rourke


  • James Jolly Clark

  • Cedric Davis Sr.

  • Joe Mumbach

  • Adrian Ocegueda

  • Jeffrey Payne

  • Lupe Valdez

  • Tom Wakely

  • Andrew White

  • Grady Yarbrough

Lieutenant governor

  • Mike Collier

  • Michael Cooper

Comptroller of public accounts

  • Joi Chevalier

  • Tim Mahoney

Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • Tex Morgan

  • Miguel Suazo

  • Railroad commissioner

  • Roman McAllen

  • Chris Spellmon

Republican Party

U.S. senator

  • Ted Cruz*

  • Bruce Jacobson Jr.

  • Mary Miller

  • Geraldine Sam

  • Stefano de Stefano


  • Greg Abbott*

  • SECEDE Kilgore**

  • Barbara Krueger

  • Lieutenant governor

  • Scott Milder

  • Dan Patrick*

Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • George P. Bush*

  • Davey Edwards

  • Jerry Patterson

  • Rick Range

Commissioner of agriculture

  • Trey Blocker

  • Jim Hogan

  • Sid Miller*

Railroad commissioner

  • Christi Craddick*

  • Weston Martinez

Presiding judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

  • David Bridges

  • Sharon Keller*

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8

  • Jay Brandon

  • Michelle Slaughter

  • Dib Waldrip

County and district candidates

Democratic Party

U.S. representative, District 2

  • J. Darnell Jones

  • Ali A. Khorasani

  • Todd Litton

  • Silky Malik

  • H.P. Parvizian

U.S. representative, District 10

  • Richie DeGrow

  • Madeline K. Eden

  • Matt Harris

  • Kevin Nelson

  • Mike Siegel

  • Tami Walker

  • Tawana Walter-Cadien

U.S. representative, District 18

  • Richard Johnson

  • Sheila Jackson Lee*

  • State senator, District 15

  • Damian Lacroix

  • Hank Segelke

  • John Whitmire*

State representative, District 15

  • Lorenza Perez McGill

State representative, District 126

  • Undrai F. Fizer

  • Natali Hurtado

State representative, District 150

  • Michael Shawn Kelly

Harris County judge

  • Line Hidalgo

Precinct 4 commissioner

  • Penny Shaw

  • Jeff Stauber

Harris County clerk

  • Gayle Young Mitchell

  • Diane Trautman

  • Nat West

Republican Party

U.S. representative, District 2

  • David Balat

  • Dan Crenshaw

  • Jonny Havens

  • Justin L. Lurie

  • Kevin Roberts

  • Jon Spiers

  • Rick Walker

  • Kathaleen Wall

  • Malcolm Whittaker

U.S. representative, District 10

  • John W. Cook

  • Michael T. McCaul*

U.S.representative, District 18

  • Ava Reynero Pate

State senator, District 15

  • Randy Orr

State representative, District 15

  • Steve Toth

  • Jackie Waters

State representative, District 126

  • Kevin Fulton

  • E. Sam Harless

  • Gail Stanart

State representative, District 150

  • Valoree Swanson*

  • James Richard Wilson

Harris County judge

  • Ed Emmett*

Precinct 4 commissioner

  • Jack Cagle*

Harris County clerk

  • Stan Stanart*

  • Noemi Valdez

**Name listed on ballot

Voter ID required

Texas voters are required to present one of seven specific forms of photo identification before they may cast their ballots. Voters must present one of the following forms of ID to vote:

  • Texas driver’s license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety

  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS

  • Texas personal ID card issued by DPS

  • Texas concealed handgun license issued by DPS

  • U.S. military ID card containing the cardholder’s photograph

  • U.S. citizenship certificate containing the cardholder’s photograph

  • U.S. passport

With the exception of the U.S. citizenship certificate, the ID must be current or have expired no more than four years before being presented at the polling place. Voters can apply for an Election Identification Certificate at no cost at any driver’s license office. Details on how to apply for an EIC are available on the DPS website, www.dps.texas.gov/driverlicense/electionID.htm.

Voters who cannot obtain one of the seven acceptable forms of photo ID due to a reasonable impediment may present a supporting form of identification and execute a Reasonable Impediment Declaration, noting the voter’s reasonable impediment to obtaining an acceptable form of photo identification and stating the voter is the same person on the presented supporting form of identification.

Supporting forms of ID that can be presented for voters with a reasonable impediment are:

  • Valid voter registration certificate

  • Original certified birth certificate

  • Copy of or original current utility bill

  • Copy of or original bank statement

  • Copy of or original government check

  • Copy of or original paycheck

  • Copy of or original government document with voter’s name and an address (original required if it contains a photograph)

For additional information regarding voter ID laws, go to the Secretary of State Office’s website, www.votetexas.gov/register-to-vote/need-id.html.