Following the conclusion of the candidate filing period for the upcoming Nov. 8 election, no challengers have filed to run for three Spring ISD trustee positions up for election this fall, district officials confirmed Aug. 24.

The candidate filing period for SISD trustee Positions 1, 2 and 3—currently occupied by Trustee Deborah Jensen, Secretary Kelly P. Hodges and President Justine Durant, respectively—opened July 23 after the board called an election for November. The filing period closed at 5 p.m. on Aug. 22.

Durant was named SISD’s board president Dec. 14, replacing Trustee Rhonda Newhouse in the role. As previously reported by Community Impact Newspaper, Durant has served on the board since 2006, when she stepped in to fill a vacancy. She was first elected to the board in 2007, and she was subsequently re-elected in 2010, 2013, 2016 and 2019.

First elected to the board in 2010, Jensen has maintained her position through the 2013, 2016 and 2019 elections.

Hodges was first elected to the board in 2019 after running unopposed for the position.

Also on the board, SISD Trustees Carmen Correa and Natasha McDaniel were re-elected in November 2021 after being unopposed for Positions 6 and 7, respectively. Vice President Winford Adams Jr. and Assistant Secretary Rhonda Newhouse—who serve in Positions 4 and 5, respectively—were last re-elected in November 2020 after running unopposed.