New Spring ISD schools to be named Springwoods Village Middle School, Spring Leadership Academy

Spring ISD board of trustees named two new buildings at its Dec. 11 meeting.

Spring ISD board of trustees named two new buildings at its Dec. 11 meeting.

Two new Spring ISD buildings received names at the Dec. 11 board of trustees meeting.

Middle school No. 8, which will be located in the northern portion of the district near Northgate Crossing and Springwoods Village, will be named Springwoods Village Middle School. The school is one of the projects included in the $300 million bond referendum approved by voters in 2016.

Middle school No. 9 will focus on leadership development and will be located in the building on TC Jester Boulevard currently occupied by the Spring Early College Academy when that school relocates to Lone Star College's North Harris campus in the 2019-20 academic year.

Board members suggested several names, including Spring Middle School Leadership Academy and the names of various individuals who have served in the district for many years, including two current board members.

The name Spring Leadership Academy was chosen by a vote of 5-1. Board member Winford Adams opposed the name and Chris Bell abstained. Adams and Bell had said during discussion they would prefer the building be named after an individual.

The board also recognized the newly chosen principal of the ninth middle school, Kevin Banks, who is currently associate principal at Roberson Middle School.

Specifics of the school's programs and offerings are still being developed, but it could include community service and technology components, SISD Superintendent Rodney Watson said.

"It will be focused on leadership in a blended learning environment ... [and] technology will be one of the components infused in that," Watson said.

The board also authorized the issuance of the final $105 million in bonds from the 2016 bond referendum to complete projects, such as construction of three ninth-grade centers and a stadium.

In other business, the board swore in trustees Don Davis, Position 6, and Jana Gonzales, Position 7, who ran unopposed for office this year.

The board also chose its officers for 2019.

Current board president Rhonda Newhouse was elected to serve in that capacity again in 2019. Gonzales was elected vice president, Davis was elected board secretary and Adams was elected assistant board secretary.
By Vanessa Holt
A resident of the Houston area since 2011, Vanessa began working in community journalism in her home state of New Jersey in 1996. She joined Community Impact Newspaper in 2016 as a reporter for the Spring/Klein edition and became editor of that paper in March 2017 and editor of The Woodlands edition in January 2019.