Hospitals in more than 100 Texas counties are required to suspend all elective surgeries in response to state concerns of reduced capacity during the coronavirus pandemic, according to a proclamation issued by Gov. Greg Abbott on July 9.

The move comes as an expansion of Executive Order GA-27, signed on June 25 in which Abbott initially required hospitals only in Bexar, Dallas, Harris, and Travis counties to postpone all non-medically necessary surgeries and procedures unrelated to COVID-19 during the coronavirus pandemic.

According to the July 9 order, the governor has added medical procedure restrictions to 11 out of 22 Trauma Service Areas in the state. Counties within Community Impact Newspaper's coverage area include:

  • Austin-area counties including Bastrop, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays,and Williamson counties in addition to Blanco, Burnet, Lee, Llano, and San Saba within Trauma Service Area O.

  • Houston-area counties including Fort Bend and Montgomery counties, in addition to Matagorda, Walker, Waller, and Wharton within Trauma Service Area Q.