Unofficial special election results from Dec. 9 show Pearland voters chose candidates Mona Chavarria and Chad Thumann to fill council member positions 3 and 6, previously held by Alex Kamkar and Jeffrey Barry, respectively.

The gist

Chavarria, who ran unchallenged, was the top vote receiver of the group with 1,927 votes, according to unofficial results from Brazoria County.

Thumann received 1,353 votes, or 62.7% of the vote, while his challengers Diana Antezana and Veronica Kreuder Longoria received 234 votes, or 10.84%, and 571 votes, or 26.46%, respectively.

One more thing

The special election was triggered when city council members Alex Kamkar and Jeffrey Barry, the former occupants of seats 3 and 6, respectively, announced their bids to fill the open Texas House District 29 seat vacated by outgoing state Rep. Ed Thompson, R-Pearland.

Neither Chavarria or Thumann could be immediately reached for comment Dec. 11.