Editor's note: This story's headline was updated at 8:45 a.m. Dec. 6 to reflect the Dec. 9 election is a special election.

While early voting for Pearland’s special election wraps up Dec. 5, voters will have another chance to cast their ballot to elect two new Pearland City Council members on Dec. 9.

What you need to know

On Oct. 3, Pearland called a special election to fill council member positions 3 and 6, previously held by Alex Kamkar and Jeffrey Barry, respectively.

In September, both Kamkar and Barry announced their bids to fill the open Texas House District 29 seat vacated by outgoing state Rep. Ed Thompson, R-Pearland, which triggered the special election, Community Impact previously reported.

According to the Texas Constitution's resign-to-run law, Pearland City Council members cannot serve on council while seeking election to a state office.

Voters can head to cast ballots from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on Dec. 9 at the Tom Reid Library, the West Pearland Community Center and the West Pearland Library.

The details

All the positions are at large and can be held by any qualified candidate, according to the city of Pearland’s website. According to the city of Pearland, the candidates running for election are:

Council member, Position 3
  • Mona Chavarria
Council member, Position 6
  • Diana Antezana
  • Chad Thumann
  • Veronica Kreuder Longoria
One more thing

Those elected will serve the remainder of Barry and Kamkar’s terms, which expire in May 2025 and May 2026, respectively.