Early voting begins Oct. 22 for the Nov. 6 general election. Registered voters may cast their ballot at any polling location in their home county during the early voting period, which ends Nov. 2.

In the 2008 general election, more than 8 million of the state's nearly 14 million registered voters—or 59.5 percent of registered voters—cast their ballots, according the Texas Secretary of State's Office.

In the 2012 presidential primaries in May, slightly more than 16 percent of the state's registered voters cast their ballots.

Current and historical election information is available on the Texas Secretary of State's website, www.votetexas.gov.

Harris County

There are 37 early voting locations throughout Harris County. The Tomball Public Works building at 501 James St. serves as the Tomball area location.

The building is open to voters on the following dates and times:

8 a.m.–4:30 p.m. Oct. 22–26

7 a.m.–7 p.m. Oct. 27, Oct. 29–Nov. 2

1–6 p.m. Oct. 28

Voting times and dates vary by location for the other 36 Harris County early voting sites. On Election Day, Nov. 6, Harris County voters must cast their ballots in their home precinct—Precinct 4 for Tomball residents. Polls are open from 7 a.m.–7 p.m. Nov. 6.

A complete list of polling locations and other Election Day and early voting information is available on the Harris County website, www.harrisvotes.com.

U.S. Rep. Kevin Brady, of District 8, is opposed by Democrat Neil Burns and Libertarian Roy Hall. U.S. Rep. Michael McCaul, of District 10, is opposed by Democrat Tawana Cadien and Libertarian Richard Priest.

Incumbent Dan Patrick is up against Democratic challenger Sam Texas in the race for state senator in District 7. Two Tomball area state representatives also have challengers—Allen Fletcher in District 130 is opposed by Art Browning of the Green Party and Debbie Riddle of District 150 is opposed by Democrat Brad Neal.

In Harris County, Sheriff Adrian Garcia is opposed by Republican Louis Guthrie and Remington Alessi of the Green Party. Two candidates are running for the District Attorney position being vacated by Patricia R. Lykos—Republican Mike Anderson and Democrat Lloyd Wayne Oliver.

Ron Hickman is unopposed in his bid for Precinct 4 constable, but Precinct 4 Commissioner Jack Cagle is opposed by Democrat Sean Hammerle. Elections for the three open positions on the Tomball ISD board of trustees have been cancelled due to all three of the races being unopposed.

Voter turnout has risen steadily in Harris County since 52.77 percent of registered voters cast ballots in the 2000 election. In 2008, 62.18 percent of voters participated.

Montgomery County

Early voters in the Magnolia area can vote at the Magnolia Volunteer Fire Department No. 181 at 18215 Buddy Riley Blvd., Magnolia.

Residents belonging to any precinct can vote during the following times:

8 a.m.–5 p.m. Oct. 22–Oct. 26

7 a.m.–7 p.m. Oct 27, Oct. 29–Nov. 2.

Noon–5 p.m. Oct. 28

For more information on voting in the county, including election day polling locations, visit www.mctx.org/election.

Republican Steve Toth and Libertarian Sterling Russell are both vying for the State representative position in District 15, replacing Rob Eissler.

The majority of races in Montgomery County are unopposed, but residents are still encouraged to vote. In 2008 65.25 percent of registered voters in Montgomery County voted, and the numbers have stayed fairly consistent since 2000, when 67.5 percent cast their ballot in the county.