ELECTION ROUNDUP: See results from some of Katy’s most notable state, local races


The results are in, and Katy-area residents have a few new faces alongside familiar ones representing them on the local and state level. Results are unofficial until canvassed, which will occur between Nov. 9 and 20.

County judges

Democratic candidate Lina Hidalgo defeated incumbent Republican Ed Emmet to become Harris County judge. She received 590,524 votes, or 49.72 percent of the vote. Emmett received 572,816 votes, or 48.23 percent of the vote. The Libertarian candidate, Eric Gatlin, received 24,379 votes, or 2.05 percent of the vote.

Democratic candidate KP George is the new Fort Bend County judge. He received 132,298 votes, or 52.91 percent, while Republican Robert Hebert garnered 117,747 votes, or 47.09 percent.

Republican Trey Duhon was re-elected as Waller County judge, defeating Democrat challenger Denise Mattox. Duhon received 10,397 votes, or 63.83 percent. Mattox received 5,891, or 36.17 percent.

State House of Representatives

Cecil Bell Jr., the Republican incumbent for District 3 of the Texas House, will keep his seat with 38,212 votes, or 80.48 percent. Democrat Lisa Seger received 9,271 votes, or 19.52 percent.

Republican incumbent John Zerwas remains the District 28 state representative, having received 44,306 votes, or 54.20 percent. Democratic challenger Meghan Scoggins garnered 37,427 votes, or 45.79 percent.

The race for District 132 in the state House is tight. Democratic candidate Gina Calanni has 49 more votes than Republican Mike Schofield, who will wait for the mail-in ballots to be tallied before he concedes or asks for a recount, a spokesperson said. With 100 percent of precincts reporting, Schofield has 32,629 votes, or 49.14 percent, while Calanni has 32,378 votes, or 49.21 percent. Libertarian Daniel Arevalo received 1,097 votes, or 1.65 percent.

State Senate

Republican incumbent Joan Huffman will keep her seat representing District 17 in the Texas Senate. With all but one precinct reporting she received 157,406 votes, or 51.56 percent. Democrat candidate Rita Lucido had 142,514 votes, or 46.68 percent, and Libertarian candidate Laure LaCount received 5,350 votes, or 1.75 percent.

Republican incumbent Paul Bettencourt will also keep his District 7 seat in the state Senate. With all but one precinct reporting, he received 177,156 votes, or 57.82 percent, Democrat candidate David Romero earned 123,356 votes, or 40.26 percent, and Libertarian Tom Glass had 5,840 votes, or 1.90 percent.


Republican incumbent Greg Abbott was re-elected as the governor of Texas with all but two precincts reporting. He received 4.6 million votes, or 55.85 percent. Democrat Lupe Valdez received 3.5 million votes, or 42.45 percent. Libertarian Mark Jay Tippetts had 139,983 votes, or 1.68 percent.

Lieutenant governor

Dan Patrick, a republican, will remain the lieutenant governor of Texas with all but two precincts reporting. He garnered 4.2 million votes, or 51.34 percent, while Democrat Mike Collier received 3.8 million votes, or 46.43 percent. Libertarian Kerry Douglas McKennon had 183,467 votes, or 2.22 percent.

Texas attorney general

Republican Ken Paxton was re-elected at the attorney general of Texas with all but two precincts reporting. Paxton earned 4.2 million votes or 50.6 percent, Democrat Justin Nelson received 3.9 million votes, or 46.96 percent, and Libertarian Michael Ray Harris had 200,407 votes, or 2.43 percent.

U.S. House of Representatives

Republican incumbent Michael McCaul will keep his seat representing District 10 in the U.S. House of Representatives. With 1,237 of 1,304 precincts reporting, he received 152,972 votes, or 51.14 percent. Democrat candidate Mike Siegel had 139,712 votes, or 46.71 percent, and Libertarian candidate Mike Ryan received 6,405 votes, or 2.1 percent.

Republican Pete Olson was re-elected to represent District 22, having received 132,431 votes, or 51.9 percent, with 71 of 134 of the precincts reporting. Democrat Sri Preston Kulkarni received 117,719 votes; independent Kellen Sweny received 2,600, or 1.01 percent; and Libertarian John B. Melligott received 2,584 votes, or 1.01 percent.

U.S. Senate

Republican Ted Cruz was re-elected as senator with 4. 2 million votes, or 50.94 percent, with all but two precincts reporting. Democrat Beto O’Rouke received 4 million votes, or 48.26 percent, and Libertarian Neal Dikeman received 65,161 votes, or less than 1 percent.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Jen Para
Jen joined Community Impact Newspaper in fall 2018 as the editor of the Katy edition. A graduate of the University of Missouri School of Journalism, Jen has written about business, politics and education since 2013. Prior to CI, Jen was the web producer at Houston Business Journal.
Back to top