The deadline to file for a place on the ballot for elections this November was Aug. 16, and a number of candidates will be running for the five seats up for election on the Houston ISD board of trustees.

All five races are contested, and incumbents will be running to keep their seats in all five of them.

Here are the candidates who have filed to run in each race as well as what areas those districts cover. Each candidate is elected by voters within their district.

District I

Coverage area: Northside/Northline, Independence Heights, Garden Oaks, Greater Heights,

Matias Kopinsky

Janette Garza Lindner

Elizabeth Santos (incumbent)

District V

Coverage area: University Place, Braeswood Place, city of Bellaire, Gulfton, Meyerland

• Caroline Walter

Maria Benzon

Sue Deigaard (incumbent)

District VI

Coverage area: Briarforest, parts of Eldridge/West Oaks, Braeburn and Sharpstown

• Gregory Degeyter

Holly Flynn Vilaseca (incumbent)

Kendall Baker

District VII

Coverage area: Greater Uptown, Upper Kirby, Afton Oaks/River Oaks, Lazybrook/Timbergrove, parts of Sharpstown, Montrose and Washington Corridor

Dwight Jefferson

Anne Sung (incumbent)

Bridget Wade

Mac Walker

District IX

Coverage area: Greater Fondren, Fondren Gardens, Central Southwest, South Acres, Crestmont Park, parts of Sunnyside

Joshua Rosales

Myrna Guidry (incumbent)

• Gerry Monroe

HISD board members serve staggered four-year terms with elections taking place every two years. The seats up for election in 2023 will cover districts II, III, IV and VIII, which are currently held by trustees Kathy Blueford-Daniels, Daniela Hernandez, Patricia Allen and Judith Cruz, respectively.

A map of each district's boundaries can be found here.

Look for more candidate information and future Q&A's in the Oct. 1 edition of Community Impact Newspaper and online at