Here are the 100-plus candidates vying for city offices in Houston's November election

Over 100 candidates filed for spots on the November ballot for Houston's city offices.

Over 100 candidates filed for spots on the November ballot for Houston's city offices.

Image description
Screen Shot 2019-08-20 at 10.21.32 AM
On their November ballots, Houston voters may see 11 mayoral candidates, one city controller candidate, 30 city council candidates for five at-large positions and anywhere from one to 15 candidates for district city council positions, depending on where voters live.

With all 18 of Houston’s major public offices up for election and no race left uncontested, over 100 candidates filed to run for office by the city's Aug. 19 deadline.

One of the most crowded fields of candidates is made up of those vying to represent District C, which covers parts of the Heights, Montrose and Meyerland. Mayor Pro Tem Ellen Cohen currently represents the competitive district, but has reached her term limit.

At-Large 4 Council Member Amanda Edwards shook up the candidate pool July 18 when she announced her bid for U.S. Senate instead of a bid for a second term in her current position. As a result, two District C candidates, Nick Hellyar and Anthony Dolcefino, switched to the At-Large 4 race.

Below is a list of candidates that filed by the end of the August 19 deadline, according to the city secretary’s office.

Incumbent: Sylvester Turner
Kendall Baker
Dwight A. Boykins
Derrick Broze
Tony Buzbee
Naoufal Houjami
Bill King
Sue Lovell
Victoria Romero
Demetria Smith
Johnny "J.T." Taylor
Roy J. Vasquez

City Controller
Incumbent: Chris Brown
Orlando Sanchez

City Council District A
Mehdi Cherkaoui
Marina Angelica Coryat
Lois Dickson Myers
Amy Peck
Iesheia Ayers-Wilson
George Harry Zoes

City Council District B
Robin J. Anderson
Cynthia Bailey
Prince E.W. Bryant II
Broderick F. Butler
Alvin D. Byrd
Karisma D. Gillam
Tarsha Jackson
Alice Kirkmon
Karen “KKC” Kossie-Chernyshev
Kenneth Perkins
Alyson M. Quintana
Renee Jefferson Smith
Ben White, Jr.
Huey L. Wilson

City Council District C
Candelario Cervantez
Felix J. Cisneros
Michelle Ganz
Rodney Blair Hill
Gladys House
Abbie Kamin
Shelley Kennedy
Sean P. Marshall
Greg Meyers
Bob Nowak
Daphne Scarbrough
Mary Jane Smith
Kevin Walker
Amanda K. Wolfe
Kendra Yarbrough Camarena has withdrawn

City Council District D
Anthony Kirk Allen
Carla D. Brailey
Andrew C. Burks, Jr.
Rashad Cave
Marlon A. Christian
Jeremy Darby
Dennis Griffin
Michael Allen Grissom
T. “Nissi” Hamilton
Brad "Scarface" Jordan
Travis McGee
Dontrell L. Montgomery
Ken Moore
Jerome Provost
Carolyn Evans-Shabazz
Terrill D. Thomas

District E
Incumbent: Dave Martin
Sam Cleveland

City Council District F
Adekunle “Kay” Elegbede
Van Huynh
Anthony Nelson
G. "John" Nguyen
Richard Nguyen
Tiffany Thomas
Jesus Zachary Zamora

City Council District G
Incumbent: Greg Travis
Tom Baker
Crystal Pletka

District H
Incumbent: Karla Cisneros
Isabel Longoria
Cynthia Reyes-Revilla
Gaby Salcedo

City Council District I
Incumbent: Robert Gallegos
Richard "Rick" Gonzales

City Council District J
Nelvin Adriatico
Federico "Freddie" Cuellar
Barry Curtis
Rafael Galvan
Andrew "Drew" Patterson
Edward Pollard
Sandra Rodriguez

City Council District K
Incumbent: Martha Castex-Tatum
Kim Sauke
Gerry Vander-Lyn

City Council At Large Position 1
Incumbent: Mike Knox
Larry Blackmon
Yolanda Navarro Flores
Georgia Provost
Raj Salhotra

City Council At Large Position 2
Incumbent: David Robinson
Willie R. Davis
Emily Muñoz DeToto
M. “Griff” Griffin
Jim Honey

City Council At Large Position 3
Incumbent: Michael Kubosh
Janaeya Carmouche
Jose Carlos Gonzalez
Marcel McClinton

City Council At Large Position 4
Bill Baldwin
Christe Bastida
Anthony Dolcefino
Javier Gonzalez
Tiko Hausman
Nick Hellyar
James "Joe" Joseph
Jennifer Laney
Ericka McCrutcheon
Letitia Plummer
Jason D. Rowe

City Council, At Large Position 5
Sallie Alcorn
J. Brad Batteau
Michelle L. Bonton
Eric Dick
Catherine Garcia Flowers
Ralph "Rafa" Garcia
Marvin McNeese Jr.
Sonia Rivera
Ashton P. Woods

Editor's note: this post has been updated to reflect additional candidate filings including write-in candidates.
By Emma Whalen
Emma is Community Impact Newspaper's Houston City Hall reporter. Previously, she covered public health, education and features for several Austin-area publications. A Boston native, she is a former student athlete and alumna of The University of Texas at Austin.