Richmond residents: here’s what 2018 primary election candidates are on the ballot this March


The candidates listed below are part of an election guide from Community Impact Richmond’s February issue. The candidates listed will be on the 2018 primary election ballot in the communities defined by Community Impact Newspaper’s Richmond coverage area. Only contested races are listed.

Statewide candidates

Democratic Party

U.S. senator

  • Sema Hernandez
  • Edward Kimbrough
  • Beto O’Rourke


  • James Jolly Clark
  • Cedric Davis Sr.
  • Joe Mumbach
  • Adrian Ocegueda
  • Jeffrey Payne
  • Lupe Valdez
  • Tom Wakely
  • Andrew White
  • Grady Yarbrough

Lieutenant governor

  • Mike Collier
  • Michael Cooper

Comptroller of public accounts

  • Joi Chevalier
  • Tim Mahoney

Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • Tex Morgan
  • Miguel Suazo

Railroad commissioner

  • Roman McAllen
  • Chris Spellmon

Republican Party

U.S. senator

  • Ted Cruz*
  • Bruce Jacobson Jr.
  • Mary Miller
  • Geraldine Sam
  • Stefano de Stefano


  • Greg Abbott*
  • SECEDE Kilgore**
  • Barbara Krueger

Lieutenant governor

  • Scott Milder
  • Dan Patrick*

Commissioner of the General Land Office

  • George P. Bush*
  • Davey Edwards
  • Jerry Patterson
  • Rick Range

Commissioner of agriculture

  • Trey Blocker
  • Jim Hogan
  • Sid Miller*

    Railroad commissioner

  • Christi Craddick*
  • Weston Martinez

Presiding judge, Court of Criminal Appeals

  • David Bridges
  • Sharon Keller*

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8

  • Jay Brandon
  • Michelle Slaughter
  • Dib Waldrip

County and district candidates

Democratic Party

State representative, District 28

  • Meghan Scoggins
  • Durward White

State senator, District 17

  • Ahmad R. Hassan
  • Fran Watson
  • Rita Lucido

Justice, 14th Court of Appeals District, Place 3

  • Joseph R. Willie, II
  • Jerry Zimmerer

Justice, 14th Court of Appeals District, Place 8

  • Michele Barber Chimene
  • Margaret “Meg” Poissant

County chairperson

  • Cynthia Ginyard
  • Hazel Dorine Lundy

Member, State Board of Education, District 4

  • Steven A. Chambers
  • Lawrence Allen, Jr.*

U.S. representative, District 22

  • Steve Brown
  • Mark Gibson
  • Margarita Ruiz Johnson
  • Sri Preston Kulkarni
  • Letitia Plummer

Republican Party

Justice, 1st Court of Appeals District, Place 7

  • Katy Boatman
  • Terry Yates

Justice of the peace, Precinct 1, Place 2

  • Atwood “Woody” McAndrew
  • Mary S. Ward*

State senator, District 17

  • Kristin Tassin
  • Joan Huffman*

District judge, 268th Judicial District

  • Mike Hartman
  • John “Hawk” Hawkins

District attorney, 268th Judicial District

  • Shawn McDonald
  • Cliff Vacek

Judge, County Court at Law No. 3

  • Jennifer C. Chiang
  • Harold Kennedy
  • Tricia Krenek

Judge, County Court at Law No. 6

  • Dean Hrbacek
  • Lewis White

U.S. representative, District 22

  • James Green
  • Danny Nguyen
  • Pete Olson*
  • Eric Zmrhal

County treasurer

  • Tina Gibson
  • Bill Rickert
  • Wes Vela

**Name listed on ballot

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Rebecca Hennes
Born and raised in west Houston, Rebecca joined Community Impact in June 2017 after graduating from the Honors College at the University of Houston. She serves as the Katy editor covering government, education, business and transportation.
Back to top