Early voting kicks off June 29 for primary runoff elections throughout the state of Texas, including several runoffs featuring candidates who are running to represent parts of the Cy-Fair area.

In primary elections, Democrat and Republican voters partake in separate elections to choose which candidate will represent their parties in the November general election. Runoffs are held between the top two candidates from the March primaries when no candidate receives more than 50% of the vote.

Primary runoffs were rescheduled from April to July 14 in Texas because of the coronavirus pandemic. For details on measures put in place by Harris County officials to keep voters safe, visit this page.

Who is on the ballot

A total of 14 runoffs will appear on Harris County ballots for Democratic candidates, including races at the state, local and Congressional levels. A total of five races will appear on Republican ballots, including two congressional races and three local races.

Each voter's ballot will vary based on their address to ensure voters are only casting ballots in races for candidates who will represent them. The races below are particularly relevant to the Cy-Fair area. Full sample ballots for Republicans and Democrats can be found on the Harris County Clerk's website.

Democratic ballot

U.S. senator

U.S. representative, District 10

Harris County commissioner, Precinct 3

Harris County constable, Precinct 5

Republican ballot

Harris County sheriff

Where to vote

Harris County Clerk Christopher Hollins has encouraged voters to take advantage of early voting opportunities to allow for more social distancing at polling places on election day. The county has increased the total number of polling places throughout the duration of the election, Hollins said.

The clerk's office is also encouraging voters who qualify to do so to vote by mail. All mail ballot applications must be received by July 2. More information on how to apply can be found here.

Under a voting center program initiated in 2019, Harris County voters can vote at any polling center on election day as opposed to having to vote at a specific precinct. The map below includes early voting and election day locations in the Cy-Fair area. A full list of voting locations can be found here.

When to vote

June 29-July 2: 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

July 5: 10 a.m.-7 p.m.

July 6-9: 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

July 10: 7 a.m.-10 p.m.

July 14: 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

What to bring

All Texas voters are required to bring one of the following forms of identification.

  • Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety

  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS

  • Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS

  • Texas Handgun License issued by DPS

  • U.S. Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph

  • U.S. Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph

  • U.S. Passport (book or card)

Anyone who does not have an acceptable form of ID can still cast a ballot by presenting a supporting form of ID and filling out a Reasonable Impediment Declaration with the reason for why they could not obtain photo ID.