Four candidates have filed for the three seats up for election on Jersey Village City Council this May.

Incumbents Andrew Mitcham and Gary Wubbenhorst will both run unopposed to retain their seats. Two candidates have filed to run in the race for Position 4, which is being vacated by Sheri Sheppard due to term limits.

Jersey Village City Council Place 1

  • Andrew Mitcham (appointed by council in 2015 to fill vacancy, re-elected in 2016)

Jersey Village City Council Place 4

  • Simon Hughes

  • James Singleton

Jersey Village City Council Place 5

  • Gary Wubbenhorst (elected in 2016)

All City Council members in Jersey Village serve two-year terms without compensation and are limited to three consecutive terms.

Jersey Village Mayor Justin Ray and council members Greg Holden and Bobby Warren will be up for election in 2019.

Early voting in May elections will run from April 23-May 1. Election Day is Saturday, May 5. Look for Q&As with candidates in contested races in the April edition of Community Impact Newspaper.