State Sen. Brandon Creighton, R-Conroe, plans to run for re-election to represent the Texas Senate in the 88th Texas Legislature for his third term, according to a June 10 news release.

“I am humbled by the encouragement to run for U.S. Congress, but I am better positioned to hold the line against the Biden administration’s dangerous agenda here in Texas and to continue to fight for limited government, fiscal responsibility and pro-family, pro-Texas policies in the Texas Senate,” the release states.

Creighton formerly worked in the Texas House from 2006-14 before being elected to the Texas Senate District 4, which includes Harris, Chambers, Jefferson, Montgomery and Galveston counties, in 2014.

He serves as chairman of the Senate Committee on Higher Education and the Senate Select Committee on Texas Ports, the release states. Creighton sponsored House Bill 3979 in the Texas Senate that banned critical race theory in public and open-enrollment charter schools.

He also serves on the committees for business and commerce, finance, jurisprudence, water, agriculture and rural affairs, and the Senate Special Committee on Constitutional Issues.

Creighton sponsored or joint sponsored 41 bills in the 87th Texas Legislature on areas such as paid leave for police officers and firefighters that are ill or injured and updating rules to determine the incapacity of a guardian, which will be effective Sept. 1.

“The Texas Senate can be proud of its accomplishments on behalf of all Texans–but unfinished business remains,” the release states. “ I have asked Governor [Greg] Abbott to call us back into special session to address several priority issues, and I trust he will pursue conservative priorities for our growing state. We will certainly return to the Capitol in the fall to take up redistricting.

State Sen. Paul Bettencourt, R-Houston, also seeks re-election for Texas Senate District 7 for the 88th Texas Legislature, according to a June 7 news release.

State Rep. Tom Oliverson, R-Cypress, will also run for re-election for District 130.