Incumbents Shawn Denison and Laurie Turner were sworn into Montgomery ISD board of trustees during a May 16 board meeting with Eddie Winn, who beat incumbent Michael Hopkins in the May 6 election.

Denison and Turner ran uncontested, according to previous reporting. Winn beat Hopkins with 512 votes, or or 62.98% of votes, and Hopkins totaled 301 votes, according to previous reporting. During the meeting, Hopkins said he was thankful for his time in MISD and loved working with his colleagues on the board as well as serving the staff.

“I got to know Eddie Winn sitting out there and getting sunburned, lips cracked and all kinds of stuff for a week. Not only is he a servant leader, he's a remarkable person as well; his heart’s in the right place,” Hopkins said. “So this district is moving in the right direction with the right people on the board, and Eddie, I welcome you; I'm cheering for you; I'm cheering for the board, and I'm cheering for this district. So thank you. It has been my honor and privilege.”

During the meeting, the board also announced its reorganization naming Laurie Turner as board president, Nate Robb as vice president and Linda Porten as secretary.

“I want to say it's been an honor to serve as president with [the board” previous board President Matt Fuller said. “[I'm] looking forward to what's next for our board and our district under president Turner’s leadership.”