The Conroe Film Commission became the newest member of the Texas Association of Film Commissions on March 9, according to a news release from Visit Conroe. The Texas Association of Film Commissions is a co-op made up of 12 film commissions that works to market the region to film, television and commercial productions.

Conroe is home to a diverse group of film industry representatives including film crews, producers, actors and educators, according to the news release. The acting careers of Chuck Walker, Richard Bradford, Emily Neves and Teresa DePriest began in Conroe.

Areas such as Lake Conroe, state forests, the Sam Houston National Forest and and historic downtown Conroe offer filmmakers "a one-of-a-kind back drop," the news release stated.

“Visit Conroe is proud to be recognized as a Texas Film Commission City," Visit Conroe Marketing Manager Jodi Willard said in the release. "Conroe is blessed to have a rich arts scene and we are ready to welcome new opportunities to the area. We look

forward to working with the other film commission cities, who are an incredible group with diverse backgrounds, to promote Texas as a premier film destination."

Brian Gannon, Austin film commissioner and president of the Texas Association of Film Commissioners, also weighed in.

"Production companies continue to flock to Texas. We are seeing growth in all sectors not just film and television but also commercial production with national ad campaigns, video game development and new media content," he said in the release. "Conroe has so much to offer location-wise—from the piney woods to the San Jacinto River to the historic downtown—and now there is a media production support organization in the Conroe Film Commission."

Texas Association of Film Commissions members include the Amarillo Film Commission, Austin Film Commission, Brownsville Border Film Commission, Corpus Christi Film Commission, Dallas Film Commission, El Paso Film Commission, Fort Worth Film Commission, Houston Film Commission, San Antonio Film Commission, South Padre Island Film Commission and the Texas Film Commission.