Gov. Greg Abbott issued an emergency disaster declaration Sept. 13 for 17 Texas counties ahead of Tropical Storm Nicholas, which is expected to bring heavy rain and flash floods as it makes landfall.

The disaster declaration includes Aransas, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Galveston, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Refugio, San Patricio and Victoria counties. The governor’s office said in a press release that more counties would be added as necessary.

The governor also provided an update on state resources mobilizing to provide aid to affected areas. According to the press release, Abbott directed the Texas State Operations Center to move to its second level, or elevated response. The center, which is staffed by the Texas Department of Emergency Management, will coordinate resources in support of local officials.

Abbott also mobilized several rescue teams and task forces Sept. 11 to assist local communities. Texas A&M University, the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department, the state military and state health services will be contributing teams.