Candidates Courtney Chadwell and Ange Mertens will vie for League City City Council Position 4 in a Feb. 17 runoff election.

The gist

On Jan. 23, the Galveston County Ballot Board released the official election results for League City City Council Position 4 from the Jan. 13 election.

The official results show Chadwell led the five-candidate race with 1,407 votes, or 42.6% of the total vote count. Mertens had the next highest vote count with 610, or 18.47% of the total vote count.

Candidates Katherine Swanson, Rachel McAdam and Chris Dodson, received 608 votes, or 18.41%; 489, or 14.8%; and 189 votes, or 5.72% of the vote, respectively.

A candidate must have over 50% of the votes to be declared the winner, according to League City’s city charter.

One more thing

The race for Position 4 was triggered after former council member John Bowen vacated the spot in November. Community Impact previously reported on Bowen’s resignation.

Next steps

The runoff election will be held Feb. 17 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at one of the following locations:
  • Johnnie Arolfo Civic Center, 400 W. Walker St.
  • Public Works Operations Center, 1701 W. League City Parkway
  • Hometown Heroes Park, 1001 E. League City Parkway
Early voting will be held during the below times at either the Johnnie Arolfo Civic Center or the Galveston County Clerk’s Office, 10000 Emmett Lowry Expressway, Texas City:
  • Jan. 31 to Feb. 2 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Feb. 5 to 9 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
  • Feb. 12 to 13 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.