The filing period has opened for several Prosper and Celina races residents will see on the May 4 ballot.

The races on the ballot include Celina City Council, Prosper Town Council, Prosper ISD board of trustees and Celina ISD board of trustees. Interested applicants can file now through Feb. 16.

The details

Here is a list of the Celina City Council races:
  • Place 2
  • Place 3
Jay Pierce currently serves in the Place 2 seat, and Andy Hopkins sits in the Place 3 seat.

Celina Council members serve three-year terms, according to the city charter.

Check out the Celina ISD board races:
  • Place 5
  • Place 6
  • Place 7
Tracey Balsamo serves in the Place 5 seat. Kelly Juergens serves in the Place 6 seat, and Jarratt Calvert serves in Place 7.

CISD board members serve three-year, staggered terms and are elected at-large.

Here are the Prosper Town Council races:
  • Place 2
  • Place 6
Craig Andres currently serves Place 2 and has filed for re-election. Charles Cotten serves in Place 6. Cotten has yet to file for re-election, and one new candidate has filed for that seat, Cameron Reeves.

Town council members are elected at-large to serve a three-year term.

Take a look at the Prosper ISD board races:
  • Place 4
  • Place 7
Board President Bill Beavers currently serves in the Place 4 seat. Jim Bridges serves Place 7.

More election information can be found at Collin County Elections Administration and Denton County Elections Administration.