UPDATE 11:14 p.m.

John Muns was elected the next mayor of Plano according to unofficial election results May 1. Muns had 18,447 votes in Collin and Denton counties for 52.8%, followed by Lily Bao with 15,101 votes for 43.3%. Candidate Lydia Ortega had 1,367 votes for 3.9%.

Results are unofficial until canvassed.

UPDATE 9:43 p.m.:

With Collin and Denton counties updating May 1 election totals, John Muns maintains his lead for Plano mayor with 15,734 votes, or 52.6%, to 13,079 votes for Lily Bao (43.7%). Lydia Ortega has 1,119 votes for 3.7% If Muns maintains more than 50%, he would win the election. Less than 50% by the winner will force a runoff.


John Muns leads the race for Plano Mayor with 12,448 votes, or 52.5%. Lily Bao is in second with 10,426 votes, 44% and Lydia Ortega has 843 votes, 3.6%

The three candidates are vying for the position held by Mayor Harry LaRosiliere, who has finished his second and final term.

If no candidate finishes with 50% of the vote, a runoff election will take place between the top two candidates.

This story will be updated as May 1 election results become available. Visit communityimpact.com/voter-guide/election-results to see results from all local elections in your community.

This story was updated to reflect latest numbers.