As the filing deadline for May’s election inches closer, nine candidates have announced their intention to run for the Plano ISD board of trustees.

Place 4, 5 and 7 will all be on the ballot for the upcoming May 6 election, and each race is contested.

Tarrah Lantz, Lydia Ortega and Margaret Turner-Carrigan are all running for Place 4, which is held by Heather Wang.

Michael Cook, Khalid Ishaq and Greg Jubenville have all filed to run for Place 5, which is held by board President David Stolle.

Katherine Chan Goodwin and Simon Salinas will be running against incumbent Place 7 Trustee Cody Weaver.

The deadline to file for candidacy is Feb. 17 at 5 p.m., and early voting for the election will begin April 24.