Beginning March 1, the transition year ends and all vehicles will have one expiration date for inspection and registration. Here is what Texans need to do from March 1 forward: Take a look at the date on the vehicle registration sticker and then follow the two steps.
Step 1: Pass a vehicle inspection no earlier than 90 days prior to registration expiration and retain the vehicle inspection report. To find the nearest inspection station, visit the Texas Department of Public Safety’s website.
Step 2: After the vehicle passes inspection, renew its registration online, by mail or in person at the local county tax office, and the inspection status will be verified electronically.
The vehicle inspection and registration will expire on the last day of whatever month is indicated on the sticker. Owners need to have a passing inspection and renew vehicle registration no earlier than 90 days before your sticker expires.
“By now most vehicles in the state have successfully transitioned to a single sticker as proof of both inspection and registration,” said TxDMV Executive Director Whitney Brewster in a news release. “Streamlining the process for both inspection and registration is consistent with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles’ goal to continue to simplify and automate motor vehicle services for Texas drivers.”
The state of Texas stopped issuing vehicle inspection stickers on March 1, 2015, as a result of House Bill 2305 that passed during the 83rd legislative session (2013).
The implementation of the change in law is a joint effort among three state agencies:
• The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles: The TxDMV administers the state’s vehicle registration program.
• The Texas Department of Public Safety: DPS administers the state’s vehicle safety inspection program.
• The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality: The TCEQ administers the state’s vehicle emissions testing program