Tate re-elected as Grapevine mayor


Grapevine voters gave Mayor William D. Tate a landslide victory Saturday, re-electing the longtime representative with more than 80 percent of the vote.

According to unofficial results, Tate received about 82 percent of the vote — or 1,712 votes — over challenger Anne Marie Kearney, who received about 18 percent of the vote with only 381 nods.

Tate spent most of Election Day Saturday outside the Grapevine Community Activities Center talking to voters. Once the results were in, he thanked voters for their continued support.

“I am really humble,” he said, “and I am very proud of the results and the people’s confidence to give me a chance to complete some of the issues that are really important to our community.”

Tate, a Grapevine native and attorney who offices on Main Street, has served as mayor since 1988. He previously was elected mayor in June 1973 and served until 1985.

Some of the issues he plans to address during his next three years as mayor include fixing traffic issues, providing alternatives to commuting through trains, and upgrading infrastructure and facilities, including renovating CAC and building a new public safety headquarters.

“It takes experience to make those decisions and I think we will continue to be able to improve upon the things that mean the most to the people, and that is to improve the quality of life that people have in our community,” Tate said.

Kearney, a former city employee, sought to unseat Tate and implement term limits for the council, which boasts a number of longtime representatives.

“Congratulations to Mayor Tate on his re-election and thank you to everyone who supported and voted for me and for term limits in Grapevine,” she said. “My intention is to run for term limits again next May for the City Council. Thank you to all who made the effort to vote.”

Place 1 incumbent C. Shane Wilbanks and Place 2 incumbent Sharron Spencer ran unopposed in this year’s election. Both have represented Grapevine since 1985 and will now be serving another three-year term.

Share this story

Comments are closed.

Back to top