Collin County Judge Chris Hill was elected president of the North Central Texas Council of Governments' executive board in June.

What happened?

The NCTCOG’s General Assembly met June 14 in Fort Worth to elect officers and members to the board until June 2025, according to an NCTCOG news release. The assembly is made up of locally elected or appointed officials from around the North Texas region.

Hill will take over as president after Corinth Mayor Bill Heidemann, who served the previous year. Burleson City Council member Victoria Johnson was elected vice president, and Richardson City Council member Jennifer Justice was elected secretary-treasurer.

Heidemann will serve as past president on the executive board. All officers will serve in their positions until June 2025.

Also of note

In addition to electing officers, the assembly elected 13 new members to the board.
  • Clay Jenkins, Dallas County judge
  • Todd Little, Ellis County judge
  • Tim O’Hare, Tarrant County judge
  • Cara Mendelsohn, Dallas City Council member
  • Carlos Flores, Fort Worth City Council member
  • Bobbie Mitchell, Denton County commissioner
  • Bowie Hogg, Arlington City Council member
  • Kameron Raburn, Ennis mayor
  • Nick Stanley, Aledo mayor
  • David Bristol, Prosper mayor
  • T.J. Gilmore, Lewisville mayor
  • Rick Horne, Plano City Council member
  • Brandon Juckabee, Erath County judge
The new members will replace previous members from Wise County, Grand Prairie, Euless and Arlington, who were rotated off of the board.

About the program

The executive board is a regional policymaking body composed of 17 locally elected officials and one nonvoting member from the Texas Legislature, according to the NCTCOG’s website. The board votes on policy decisions, regional plans, budgetary policies and program activities.