The candidate filing period for the upcoming McKinney ISD Board of Trustees election closed on Feb. 17 with seven applications received.

Three seats on the MISD board are up for election. These include board positions for Place 4, currently held by Board President Amy Dankel; Place 5, currently held by Board Member Lynn Sperry; and Place 6, currently held by Board Secretary Stephanie O’Dell.

As of 5 p.m. Feb. 17, seven candidates have filed for election, according to the MISD website. Two candidates have filed for Place 4, including incumbent Dankel and Brittany Hendrickson.

Incumbent Sperry and Rachel Elliott have filed for Place 5. Three candidates have filed for election to Place 6, including incumbent O’Dell as well as Serena Ashcroft and James Westerheid.

Candidates run for specific places on the board, but serve the entire district, according to the MISD website. Visit for more information on the MISD Board of Trustees election.

The last day to register to vote in the upcoming spring election is April 6. Voters can visit the Collin County Elections Department website to check your voter registration status or find instructions on how to register to vote.

Early voting begins April 24 and election day is May 6. McKinney polling locations have not yet been released, according to the city’s website. Visit for more information on the upcoming election.