The candidate filing period for the upcoming McKinney City Council election closed on Feb. 17 with six applications received.

Three seats on the McKinney City Council are up for election. These include council positions for District 2, currently held by Mayor Pro Tem Rainey Rogers, and District 4, currently held by Council Member Rick Franklin.

The third seat up for election is At Large 2, currently held by Council Member Patrick Cloutier. Cloutier was elected to the position in a special election in January 2022 after former Council Member Frederick Fraizer announced his candidacy for Texas House of Representatives District 61.

Franklin is running unopposed as he is the only candidate to have filed for District 4.

Cloutier filed to run for the District 2 seat in this upcoming election, along with Michael Silva. Three candidates filed for the At Large 2 seat, including Michael Jones, Tom Meredith and Taiwo Ajunwon.

The upcoming election will be the first to utilize the new council district map. The new map, adopted at a Nov. 1 council meeting, was intended to realign McKinney’s four single-member districts into approximately equal populations. An interactive map feature on the city of McKinney’s website offers more about the new district boundaries.

The spring election will also include a bond package item on the ballot. If approved, the bond would fund a new commercial passenger service terminal and related infrastructure improvements at McKinney National Airport.

The last day to register to vote in the upcoming spring election is April 6. Voters can visit the Collin County Elections Department website to check voter registration status or find instructions on how to register to vote.

Early voting begins April 24 and election day is May 6. McKinney polling locations have not yet been released, according to the city’s website. Visit for more information on the upcoming election.