Jagours, Hassler, Green, Oaxaca to take seats on McKinney ISD board of trustees

Four seats were up for election on the McKinney ISD board of trustees. (Courtesy McKinney ISD)
Four seats were up for election on the McKinney ISD board of trustees. (Courtesy McKinney ISD)

Four seats were up for election on the McKinney ISD board of trustees. (Courtesy McKinney ISD)

Editor's note: This story has been updated to reflect the latest election results.

Winners have been decided in the May 1 general election for McKinney ISD board of trustees seats.

Larry Jagours will step into Place 1 with 869 votes, or 55% of the votes, to his opponent incumbent Maria McKinzie’s 45% of the votes.

McKinzie was appointed to serve on the MISD board Place 1 seat to complete Leonard Evans’ term. She works logistics for Raytheon. Jagours is running after working with special education students in Lewisville ISD and currently serves as a pastor.

Philip Hassler was re-elected and will serve another term on the board. He collected 2,549 votes, or 62.7%, to his opponent Anthony Congine’s 37.3% of votes.

Hassler is the owner and operator of Chick-fil-A CityLine in Richardson. Confine is the assistant service manager at Park Place Lexus.

Newcomer Chad Green has won the race for Place 3 with 1,578 votes, or 49.5%. Erwin Garcia has 406 votes, or 12.7%, and incumbent Kathi Livezey has 1,205 votes, or 37.8%. Livezey works as a contract software trainer and office manager. Garcia does sales for The Armstrong Co., and Green is the CEO of Five Star Innovation.

Harvey Oaxaca had the strongest lead among trustees and has won the race for Place 7 with 8,265 votes, or 48.3%. Trailing him is Serena Ashcroft, with 27.8% of the vote. Candidates Joy Booth and JB Franze picked up 3,698 and 407 votes, respectively.

Oaxaca is a retired educator and educational administrator, and Ashcroft is a licensed Realtor and private music teacher. Booth works as a program evaluator, and Franze is a programmer analyst and entrepreneur.

More detailed candidate Q&As are available at communityimpact.com.

Visit communityimpact.com/voter-guide/election-results to see results from all local elections in your community.
By Miranda Jaimes

Editor, Frisco & McKinney

Miranda joined Community Impact Newspaper as an editor in August 2017 with the Grapevine/Colleyville/Southlake edition. In 2019 she transitioned to editor for the McKinney edition. She began covering Frisco as well in 2020. Miranda covers local government, transportation, business and nonprofits in these communities. Prior to CI, Miranda served as managing editor for The Prosper Press, The Anna-Melissa Tribune and The Van Alstyne Leader, and before that reported and did design for The Herald Democrat, a daily newspaper in Grayson County. She graduated with a degree in journalism from Oklahoma Christian University in 2014.