As of Feb. 10, seven candidates have filed to run in the May 6 general election for seats—places 4, 5 and 6—on the McKinney ISD board of trustees, according to the district’s website.

For any other prospective candidates, the last day to file for a spot on the ballot is Feb. 17.

In total, the McKinney ISD board is made of seven elected members who serve overlapping four-year terms. The trustees supervise MISD’s management and assess the performance of its superintendent, Rick McDaniel. McDaniel is set to retire at the end of the 2022-23 school year.

Place 4

Incumbent Amy Dankel has filed for another term on Place 4. Born and raised in McKinney, Dankel is a retired teacher and has served on the board since 2011, according to her application.

Brittany Hendrickson filed to run for Place 4. After living in McKinney for 12 years, Hendrickson works as a property tax consultant and is running on a platform of “parental involvement” in MISD, according to her campaign website.

Place 5

Incumbent Lynn Sperry, who has served on the McKinney ISD board of trustees for 38 years, has filed for re-election. She has been a McKinney ISD resident for 46 years.

Rachel Elliott filed for Place 5, as well. Elliot is a small business owner and has been a McKinney ISD resident for seven years.

Place 6

Incumbent Stephanie O’Dell, who is the board’s current secretary, filed to run for Place 6. Elliot is an administrative assistant and has been a McKinney ISD resident for 19 years.

Serena Ashcroft, a private music teacher and licensed realtor, filed for Place 6. Ashcroft has resided in the district for 10 years.

James Westerheid submitted his application to run for Place 6. Westerheid is a retired engineer manager and has been a McKinney ISD resident since 1998.

The last day to register to vote is April 6. Early voting begins April 24 and runs through May 2.

To learn more information about voting, peruse the Collin County Elections Department.