Denton County sets schedule for early voting in primary runoff

Sign that says vote
The primary runoff election is July 14, and early voting will take place on specific days from June 29-July 10. (Liesbeth Powers/Community Impact Newspaper)

The primary runoff election is July 14, and early voting will take place on specific days from June 29-July 10. (Liesbeth Powers/Community Impact Newspaper)

Early voting times and locations have been finalized by Denton County for the primary runoff election.

The runoff election is July 14, and early voting will take place on specific days from June 29-July 10. Polls will be open from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. June 29 to July 2. On July 5 locations will be open from 11 a.m.-4 p.m. The following week, July 6-10, polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

There are five runoff races. On the Democratic ballot are races for U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative for District 24 and Railroad Commissioner. The Republican ballot has races for Justice for the 2nd Court of Appeals District, Place 7, and District Judge for the 431st Judicial District.

On May 11, Gov. Greg Abbott moved the primary runoff date originally scheduled for May 26 to July 14 due to the coronavirus pandemic. Abbott also extended the early voting period for the runoff election from one week to two weeks.

The last day to register to vote for the primary election runoff is June 15. Those interested in applying for an absentee ballot must file an application by July 2.

Here are early voting locations in Lewisville, Highland Village, Flower Mound and Frisco:

  • Denton County Southwest Courthouse; 6200 Canyon Falls Drive, Flower Mound

  • Shadow Ridge Middle School; 2050 Aberdeen Road, Flower Mound

  • Briarhill Middle School; 2100 Briarhill Blvd., Highland Village

  • Frederick P. Herring Recreation Center; 191 Civic Circle, Lewisville

  • Lone Star High School, 2606 Panther Creek Parkway, Frisco

  • Pearson Middle School, 2323 Stonebrook Parkway, Frisco

For a complete list of polling locations and to learn more about the election, visit Denton County Elections at
By Liesbeth Powers
Liesbeth graduated from Baylor University with a degree in new media journalism in December 2018. She gained her newspaper experience as a staff writer and multimedia editor at her campus paper, The Baylor Lariat. Liesbeth joined the Community Impact team in August 2019, where she reports on all things Plano and Richardson, including Plano City Council and Dallas Area Rapid Transit.


Real estate investors and experts discuss the draw of Texas during the June 23 Bisnow Digital Summit. (Screenshot by Miranda Jaimes/Community Impact Newspaper)
Real estate experts discuss the draw to Texas in digital summit

Craig Hall, founder of the Hall Group, said his projects have him working with out-of-state city leaders, and it’s “refreshing” to work with Texas attitudes.

orange traffic barrels
Section of Waketon Road in Flower Mound to close for construction work

Waketon Road will close to thru traffic between Long Prairie Road and Timber Way Drive beginning Monday, June 28. Detour signs will be posted.

people in a classroom
Lewisville ISD announces all in-person classes starting fall 2021

Without state funding, Lewisville ISD stated it would not be able to offer virtual learning full-time for the upcoming school year.

building rendering
Lewisville City Council moving ahead with new facilities building

The $20.1 million project is being funded through certificates of obligation bonds and utility revenue bonds, according to city documents.

Gov. Greg Abbott announced a special legislative session will begin July 8. (Trent Thompson/Community Impact Newspaper)
Gov. Greg Abbott announces special legislative session to start July 8

Agenda items will be announced before the session begins, according to a release from the governor's office.

jars of desserts
The Jar Bar DFW offering ready-to-eat desserts, meals in Lewisville

Popular flavors include peach cobbler, banana pudding and chicken salad.

Flower Mound increases homestead exemption for residents to 5%

Flower Mound has had a 2.5% homestead exemption since 2018. The council's June 21 vote doubles the exemption to 5%.

people at podium
Flower Mound to issue up to $10.25M in bonds to fund water, sewer system projects

The Flower Mound Town Council voted June 21 to issue up to $10.25 million in certificates of obligation bonds for water and sewer system projects.

Former Lewisville ISD natatorium to be demolished to make way for Flower Mound project

The town purchased the land next to Helen & Leonard Johns Community Park and is considering whether to build a cultural arts center there.

Flower Mound Town Council approves two construction projects

Pink Evening Primrose Trail expects to finish construction in January.

Cajun restaurant Storming Crab is now open in McKinney. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
Storming Crab restaurant open in McKinney; Romeo's Pizza comes to Frisco and more DFW-area news

Read the latest business and community news from the Dallas-Fort Worth area.