Flower Mound Town Council voted on June 10 to appoint Adam Schiestel to the vacant Place 1 seat.

He will serve the remainder of the term for former council member Jim Pierson, who resigned last month.

Schiestel will be sworn into office at the June 15 council meeting along with the new mayor, Derek France.

Schiestel, who has served on the planning and zoning commission since 2019, resigned from his position prior to the appointment. He also served on the town’s transportation commission from 2018-19.

The Place 1 seat will be up for election once again on May 7, 2022.