Out of the 15 seats on the Dallas City Council dais, 13 members are up for re-election May 6, and two are exiting after finishing their eight-year term limit.

Up for re-election are District 9 incumbent Paula Blackmon, whose district includes Lakewood and parts of Lake Highlands, and District 14 incumbent Paul Ridley, whose district includes parts of East Dallas. Both have made announcements that they intend to seek re-election. Blackmon first took office in 2019. Ridley began serving at City Hall in 2021.

Reaching their term limits are District 3 Council Member Casey Thomas and District 10 Council Member Adam McGough, whose district includes much of Lake Highlands. McGough was first elected to office in 2015.

Brian Hasenbauer, former Dallas Community Development commissioner, and Kathy Stewart, former Uptown Dallas Inc. executive director, have announced plans to run for District 10. McGough has endorsed Stewart.

Mayor Eric Johnson has also announced intentions to seek re-election.

Council members are elected to two-year terms, while the mayor, who holds Place 15 on the dais, is elected to a four-year term. This will be the first council election using new district maps approved June 2022.

Candidates officially began filing re-election paperwork on Jan. 18. Early voting begins April 24 and runs through May 2.