More than three dozen candidates seeking a spot on the Dallas City Council officially filed for a place on the ballot in the May 6 election.

Out of the 14 current council members, 12 are up for re-election, and two have reached their eight-year term limit. The last day to file an application for a place on the City Hall ballot was Feb. 17. Write-in candidates have until Feb. 21 to declare candidacy, according to the city of Dallas website.

Both District 9 incumbent Paula Blackmon, whose district includes Lakewood and parts of Lake Highlands, and District 14 incumbent Paul Ridley, whose district includes parts of East Dallas, each filed to seek re-election. In the District 9 election, Blackmon will face challenger Kendra Denise Madison. For the District 14 seat, Ridley is being challenged by Amanda Jean Schulz and Joseph F. Miller‚Äč.

Current District 10 Council Member Adam McGough, whose district includes much of Lake Highlands, has reached his term limit along with District 3 Council Member Casey Thomas. Four candidates have applied for a place on the District 10 ballot: Sirrano Baldeo, Brian Hasenbauer, Kathy Stewart and Chris Carter.

Council members are elected to two-year terms, while the mayor is elected to a four-year term. This will be the first council election using new district maps approved in June 2022.

Early voting begins April 24 and runs through May 2. Election Day is May 6.