Seven candidates have filed to run in the May 6 Dallas ISD board of trustees general election.

The seats for districts 2, 6 and 8 are up for election.

District 2 incumbent Dustin Marshall did not file for re-election. Jimmy Tran, Kevin Malonson, Leon Solimani and Sarah Weinberg have filed to run for the open District 2 seat. District 6 incumbent Joyce Forman has filed for re-election and will face challenger Stephen Poole. District 8 incumbent Joe Carreón is running unopposed.

Board members serve three-year staggered terms and are not subject to term limits, according to the Dallas ISD website. The filing deadline for write-in candidates is Feb. 21.

The last day to register to vote in the election is April 6. The last day to apply to vote by mail is April 25. Early voting for the May 6 election will run from April 24-May 2.