Early voting in Denton and Tarrant counties for the May 24 primary runoff election saw 61,413 ballots cast out of nearly 1.82 million registered voters in the two counties. Turnout during early voting was less than 3.4%, according to unofficial results from elections offices in Denton and Tarrant counties.

On the ballot are three statewide offices for Republicans and four statewide offices for Democrats. There are also a handful of local and county races. The winners in this election will advance to the Nov. 8 general election.

Under state law, voters who cast a ballot in the March 1 primary can only vote in that same party’s runoff election. Those who did not vote in the primary may vote in either the Republican Party or Democratic Party runoff, according to a news release from the Texas secretary of state.

In Tarrant and Denton counties, polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. May 24. Voters in Tarrant County may cast a ballot at any vote center. Click here for polling locations in Tarrant County. In Denton County voters must cast their ballot at their designated precinct. Click here for polling locations in Denton County.

Here are the candidates on the ballot for voters in the Keller, Roanoke and Northeast Fort Worth coverage area of Community Impact Newspaper:


Lieutenant governor (Democrat): Michelle Beckley and Mike Collier

Attorney general (Republican): Ken Paxton (incumbent) and George P. Bush

Attorney general (Democrat): Joe Jaworski and Rochelle Mercedes Garza

Comptroller of public accounts (Democrat): Janet T. Dudding and Angel Luis Vega

Commissioner of the General Land Office (Republican): Tim Westley and Dawn Buckingham

Commissioner of the General Land Office (Democrat): Sandragrace Martinez and Jay Kleberg

Railroad commissioner (Republican): Wayne Christian (incumbent) and Sarah Stogner


U.S. House of Representatives, District 24 (Democrat): Derrik Gay and Jan McDowell

Texas state representative, District 63 (Republican): Ben Bumgarner and Jeff Younger

Texas state representative, District 91 (Republican): Stephanie Klick (incumbent) and David Lowe

Texas state representative, District 93 (Republican): Laura Hill and Nate Schatzline


Tarrant County criminal district attorney (Republican): Matt Krause and Phil Sorrells

County Criminal Court No. 5 judge (Republican): Mamie Johnson and Brad Clark