Northwest ISD has created a permanent place to celebrate those who have had a positive impact on students.

The Legacy Wall at the district’s Legacy Learning Center is meant “to honor the heritage and history of Northwest ISD’s community,” according to the district.

“We really wanted to focus on individuals who left a positive, lasting mark on students in Northwest ISD,” NISD Executive Director of Communications Anthony Tosie told the board of trustees in August.

Only people who are no longer living may be considered for the Legacy Wall, according to Tosie.

Other qualifications include that the person must have lived within NISD’s boundaries at some point during their life and have been affiliated with the district as a teacher, staff member, graduate or community member. The person also had to have left a positive impact on NISD students and have attributes that align with NISD’s values, according to the district.

Trustees voted unanimously Aug. 22 to accept the nominees for the inaugural class of inductees. A reception will be held to honor the inaugural members of the Legacy Wall at 6 p.m. Sept. 15 at the Legacy Learning Center, 501 Schoolhouse Road, Haslet.

The inductees are:

  • Mehran Aghili, who oversaw district construction and helped provide high-quality facilities;

  • MacKenzie Dunckelman, a longtime NISD student and Eaton High School graduate who was part of the first class of the Horizons program in the Legacy Learning Center;

  • Mays Fuqua, a NISD educator for more than 30 years who also served as a counselor and assistant superintendent;

  • Dennis McCreary, former assistant superintendent for facilities; and

  • Members of the 1949-50 school board, who were the district’s first trustees and “set the foundation for the school district as it exists today,” according to a news release. Those trustees are Leo Adams, Claude Calvert, F.A. Cowart, V.R. Eaton, John D. Faught, O.A. Peterson and J.C. Thompson.