Candidates on the May election ballot in Keller, Roanoke and Northeast Fort Worth

Candidate filing for the May 1 election opened Jan. 13 and closed Feb. 12. (Community Impact Newspaper staff)
Candidate filing for the May 1 election opened Jan. 13 and closed Feb. 12. (Community Impact Newspaper staff)

Candidate filing for the May 1 election opened Jan. 13 and closed Feb. 12. (Community Impact Newspaper staff)

Candidate filings for the May 1 election is complete in Keller, Roanoke and Northeast Fort Worth. Filing opened on Jan. 13 and closed on Feb. 12. Several city and school board positions are up for grabs this year.

Early voting runs from April 19-27. Election day is May 1.

Here is a list of all candidates who will appear on the ballot. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk.

Keller City Council Place 1

Mitch Holmes*

David A. Tashman

Shannon Dubberly

Keller City Council Place 2

Sean Hicks*

Josh Bunch

Roanoke Mayor

Carl E. Gierisch Jr. “Scooter”*

Moueed Rajabi

Roanoke Ward 1

Angela Diane Grimm*

Hogan Page

Roanoke Ward 2

Bryan Moyers

Michael J. Callaway

Roanoke Ward 3

David Thompson*

Roanoke Ward 3 (unexpired term)

Paul Laymon

Fort Worth Mayor

Brian Byrd

Mike Haynes

Deborah Peoples

Chris Rector

Ann Zadeh

Mattie Parker

Mylene George

Cedric C. Kanyinda

Steve Penate

Daniel “DC” Cadwell I

Leroy Scott

Fort Worth District 4

Cary Moon*

Kristie Hanhart

Tara Wilson

Max Striker

Jorge L. Chavez

Fort Worth District 7

Shawn Lassiter

Lee Henderson

Zeb Pent

Connie Cottrell

Morris Curlee Jr.

Leonard Firestone

Nick Genua

Joseph Lockhart Jr.

Michele Stephens McNill

Irvin (Tee) Thomas

Jake Wurman

Miguel Zamora

Keller ISD Place 6

Shalunda Corzine

Charles Randklev

Yohannes A. Mengsteab

Keller ISD Place 7

Ruthie Keyes*

Jacqueline Reagan

Northwest ISD Place 1

DeAnne Hatfield*

Northwest ISD Place 2

Mark Schulter*

Kevin Lebanik
By Sandra Sadek
Sandra Sadek covers the cities of Grapevine, Southlake and Roanoke as well as Carroll ISD for Community Impact. She graduated from Texas State University where she majored in journalism and international relations. She has experience working for several local papers including the University Star, the Katy Times, and the Fort Stockton Pioneer. When she's not on the ground reporting, she enjoys a good book and a hot drink. Follow her on social media @ssadek19.


Thai Monkey offers a variety of authentic dishes from all regions of Thailand. (Courtesy Thai Monkey)
Owner of Thai Monkey restaurant brings taste of home to Roanoke

Thai Monkey owner Koung Xaymoungkhoun owns Thai Monkey in Roanoke, has two other restaurants in the metroplex and is a nursing student.

Owner Bob Peacock (left) is the son of Mike, who bought Michael’s Tobacco in Euless 15 years ago. Brandon Payne (right) manages the Keller store. (Kira Lovell/Community Impact Newspaper)
Michael's Tobacco in Keller draws customers with expertise

Bob Peacock, owner of Michael’s Tobacco in Keller, calls cigars a grand unifier—something that customers from all backgrounds can come together and bond over.

vaccine being given
As Tarrant County's COVID-19 hospitalizations rise, health officials continue to encourage vaccinations

As of July 23, Tarrant County health officials report 338 hospitalizations attributed to COVID-19.

The city of McKinney established school zones for Emerson High School in a July 20 City Council meeting. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
School zone established for Emerson High in Frisco ISD; 61% of residents in 3 Plano ZIP codes fully vaccinated, and more top news from DFW

Read the most popular business and community news from the past week from the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

Four members of Giovannie and the Hired Guns stand in a room with spray-painted walls
4 things to do this weekend in Keller, Roanoke and Northeast Fort Worth

The National Day of the American Cowboy, an afternoon concert at ChopShop Live and more

A woman pets a dog
Dogtopia now welcoming pups in Roanoke

The dog daycare will hold a grand opening event Aug. 7.

Peter Lake (left), chair of the Public Utility Commission of Texas, and Brad Jones, interim president and CEO of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, provided an update on state regulators' electric grid redesign efforts in Austin on July 22. (Ben Thompson/Community Impact Newspaper)
Regulators: Texas electric grid prepared for potentially record-breaking demand next week; 'once-in-a-generation reforms' underway

The heads of the agencies in charge of the Texas electric grid met in Austin on July 22 to provide updates on their grid reform efforts.

The plans for Overton Ridge Park will develop the property's remaining 12 acres, adding an additional playground, trail extensions and more. (Courtesy city of Keller)
Keller City Council approves plans to develop remaining land at Overton Ridge Park

The additions will include trail extensions, a fully-inclusive playground and more at the park in northern Keller.

The city of Fort Worth will host five summer open house events at locations throughout the city. (Courtesy city of Fort Worth)
Fort Worth invites residents to series of summer open house events

The events—including one in Northeast Fort Worth—will offer residents an opportunity to review the proposed list for the 2022 Bond Election, talk with city staff and learn about upcoming budget and redistricting processes.

A dentist working on a patient in the background with dental tools in the foreground
West Dental Care celebrates 5 years in Roanoke

The office provides standard preventive dental care and more.

Suburban Yacht Club plans to open in Plano in August. (Courtesy Shannon McCarthy)
Suburban Yacht Club coming to Plano; Gidi Bar & Grill opens in Frisco and more DFW-area news

Read the latest business and community news from the Dallas-Fort Worth area.

Text that says coming soon on an orange background
Roanoke restaurateurs will open Dizzy Lucy's this fall

The bar-style restaurant will be under the same ownership as Baja Cantina and the now-closed Lucy's Lot.