Democratic and Republican primary runoff elections being held in Collin County will determine who will be on the ballot for a number of races during the general election on Nov. 5.

Early voting for local runoff elections began May 20 and will continue through May 24. The regular election day for primary runoff elections is May 28, according to the Collin County Elections website.

The details

Runoffs are being held to determine a winner in March 5 primaries where the top two vote-getters failed to receive more than 50% of the vote in their respective race, according to the state election code.

The Democratic primary runoff election will only affect residents located in Texas Senate District 30, which includes parts of Frisco, Lewisville and Denton. The Republican primary runoff election has both countywide races as well as races affecting specific parts of the county.

On the ballot

Check out the candidates who will be appearing on the primary runoff election ballot for voters in Collin County. Visit county election websites for information on uncontested races and races determined by the March 5 primary election.

Note: * denotes incumbent


U.S. representative, District 32

  • Darrell Day
  • David Blewett

State Board of Education, District 12

  • Pam Little*
  • Jamie Kohlmann
State Senator, District 30

  • Michael Braxton
  • Dale Frey
  • Jace Yarbrough
  • Brent Hagenbuch
State representative, District 33

  • Justin Holland*
  • Katrina Pierson
State representative, District 61

  • Keresa Richardson
  • Frederick Frazier*

District judge, 401st Judicial District

  • Kim Laseter
  • Joel Petrazio
Where to vote

Voters participating in the Republican primary election runoff may cast a ballot at any Collin County polling location during early voting and on election day. Visit for a full list of voting locations.

For those voting in the Democratic primary election runoff race for State Senate District 30, four polling locations are available within the district’s boundaries. Polling locations include:
  • Collin County Elections, 2010 Redbud Blvd., Ste. 102, McKinney
  • Collin College Frisco Campus, 9700 Wade Blvd., Bldg. J, Frisco
  • Frisco Fire Station No. 8, 14700 Rolater Road, Frisco
  • The Grove at Frisco Commons, 8300 McKinney Road, Frisco
Learn more

For more information about primary runoff elections in Collin County, visit