Ten days after the deadline to file for candidacy in the May 6 general election, numerous candidates have announced their withdrawal from their respective school board and town races.

Flower Mound, Argyle and Lewisville ISD all saw candidates remove themselves from the race well before early voting begins.

The following candidates withdrew their names for consideration:

Flower Mound Town Council:

Nagesh Kunamneni, Place 2

Argyle Town Council:

Chad Malchow, Place 2

Cynthia Herman, Place 4

Jeffrey Brekke, Place 4

Lewisville ISD board of trustees:

Jake Preda, Place 6

Thronn Hicks, Place 7

Although these candidates have withdrawn their applications for candidacy, all of these races are still contested.

Early voting begins April 24.