New Dripping Springs ISD trustees sworn in


Newly elected Dripping Springs ISD trustees, Joanna Day and incumbent Marisa Grijalva, were sworn in to their positions at the May 20 meeting of the DSISD board of trustees. The swearing in took place before any board discussion or actions, allowing Day and Grijalva to participate in the May 20 meeting as full voting members.

Both Day and Grijalva occupy at-large positions on the board, meaning they represent the entire district. Day occupies the seat previously held by Jon Thompson, whereas Grijalva had already been serving in as an appointed trustee.

Day and Grijalva were elected over opponents Rob Satterfield and Kara Mayfield in a May 4 election.

Day and Grijalva were two of many individuals recognized at the May 20 meeting. The cafeteria at Walnut Springs Elementary school was packed with visitors from the community, many of whom were there to support award-winning students and teachers recognized for their achievements in the 2018-2019 school year.

Additionally, twelve retiring educators and district employees were honored, including Dripping Springs High principal Joe Burns and Walnut Springs Elementary principal Julie Pryor.

Share this story

Leave A Reply

Olivia Aldridge
Olivia is the reporter for Community Impact's Southwest Austin edition. She graduated from Presbyterian College with a bachelor's degree in English and creative writing in 2017. Olivia was a reporter and producer at South Carolina Public Radio in Columbia, South Carolina before joining Community Impact in Austin.
Back to top