South Austin voter guide: See who is running, where and when to vote in the July 14 election

Early voting begins June 29 for the July primary runoff elections. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
Early voting begins June 29 for the July primary runoff elections. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)

Early voting begins June 29 for the July primary runoff elections. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)

Southwest Austin and Dripping Springs residents have an opportunity to vote this month in local primary runoff elections as well as a special election for state Senate District 14.

Early voting for the July 14 elections began June 29 and will run through July 10, with polls closed July 3-4 for the Fourth of July holiday. Learn where and when you can vote as well as which candidates are on the current ballot bellow.

Polling locations and times

Travis County residents can participate in early voting at any of 20 locations across the county Monday-Saturday from 7 a.m.-7 p.m., according to the county. Additional voting locations will be open on election day July 14 from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

In Hays County, there are six early voting locations where residents can cast ballots. According to Hays County, early voting will be open June 29-July 2 from 8 a.m.-5 p.m., July 5 from 10 a.m.-5 p.m. and July 6-10 from 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

There will be 14 total election day locations open July 14 from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. for those who do not vote early.

The Travis County clerk’s office is recommending face masks for all voters to prevent the spread of the coronavirus. In addition, voters are encouraged to keep 6 feet of distance, bring their own pen, and wash or sanitize their hands upon entry and exit of the polling location. Hays County has similar recommendations in place.

The following map shows early voting locations for both counties.Special election

A special election is being held to fill the vacant seat of former state Sen. Kirk Watson’s District 14. There are six candidates appearing on the ballot to serve the remainder of the term through 2022. A Q&A with the candidates can be found here.

State senator District 14

  • Sarah Eckhardt (D)

  • Don Zimmerman (R)

  • Jeff Ridgeway (I)

  • Eddie Rodriguez (D)

  • Pat Dixon (L)

  • Waller Thomas Burns II (R)

Primary runoff elections

July 14 runoff elections are being held to settle primary races for local and state seats. Runoffs are held because no candidate for an elected office received more than 50% of the vote in the March 3 primary election.

Democratic primary runoffs

U.S. senator

  • Royce West

  • Mary “MJ” Hegar

Railroad commissioner

  • Chrysta Casaneda

  • Roberto R. “Beto” Alonzo

53rd Judicial District - district attorney

  • Jose Garza

  • Margaret Moore

County attorney

  • Laurie Eiserloh

  • Delia Garza

Travis County commissioner Precinct 3

  • Valinda Bolton

  • Ann Howard

Republican primary runoffs

U.S. representative District 35

  • Jenny Garcia Sharon

  • “Guillermo” William Hayward

State Board of Education, District 5

  • Lani Popp

  • Robert Morrow

State representative District 45

  • Kent “Bud” Wymore

  • Carrie Isaac

State representative District 47

  • Justin Berry

  • Jennifer Fleck


A sign directs voters inside Ridgetop Elementary School in North Central Austin. (Jack Flagler/Community Impact Newspaper)
11.8% of voters in Travis County have voted early since June 29, exceeding 2018 primary numbers

More than 97,000 Travis County residents have voted in person or by mail. The turnout far surpassed the combined early and Election Day totals in the 2018 primary run-off election.

A photo of the potential Tesla property
Travis County updates Tesla incentive package, pushing for $1 billion-plus investment from the company

Poised for a possible July 13 vote, Travis County has released a refined incentives structure proposal with electric carmaker Tesla.

Texas Commissioner of Education Mike Morath announced in a June 30 State Board of Education meeting that students will be taking the STAAR in the 2020-21 school year. (Courtesy Pixabay)
Education organizations call for STAAR requirements to be waived another year

Gov. Greg Abbott waived the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness, or STAAR, testing requirements in March of earlier this year in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

With a clinical background in internal, pulmonary and critical care medicine, Corry has been with BCM for 20 years. He now focuses primarily on inflammatory lung diseases, such as asthma and smoking-related chronic obstructive pulmonary diseases. (Graphic by Ronald Winters/Community Impact Newspaper)
Q&A: Baylor College of Medicine's Dr. David Corry discusses immunity, vaccine production amid COVID-19 pandemic

Rapid development and distribution of a vaccine worldwide and successful achievement of herd immunity will be key players in determining the lifespan of the COVID-19 pandemic, said Dr. David Corry, a professor of Medicine in the Immunology, Allergy and Rheumatology Section at Baylor College of Medicine.

The building would be used as a 15,000-square-foot real estate office near Stearns Lane. (Site plan courtesy Townbridge Homes)
New office building could be headed to W. Hwy. 290 in South Austin

The building would be used as a 15,000 square-foot real estate office near Stearns Lane.

Gourdough's filed for bankruptcy June 23. The South Lamar brick-and-mortar location and its food truck both remain open. (Jack Flagler/Community Impact Newspaper)
South Lamar donut spot Gourdough's files for bankruptcy

Court documents show that the owners of Gourdough's poured $1.79 million into a San Antonio location that opened in 2019.

The new partnership will provide on-site, same-day testing and results for assisted-living facility staff and their residents. (Courtesy Adobe Stock)
State announces partnership for increased COVID-19 testing for patients, staff at assisted-living facilities, nursing homes

These test sites will help the state work toward the goal of processing up to 100,000 tests in the first month.

The city of Austin has sent three samples of algae from Lady Bird Lake to The University of Texas to test them for toxins. (Jack Flagler/Community Impact Newspaper)
University of Texas researchers will test Lady Bird Lake algae for harmful toxins

Last summer, five dogs died in Lady Bird Lake after coming into contact with the toxic blue-green algae.

Former Cedar Park Police Department Chief Sean Mannix is pictured in this 2015 file photo. (Community Impact Newspaper file photo)
Cedar Park police chief moves to Burnet, driver's license offices reopen: Most popular news this week from Central Texas

Read the most popular Central Texas news from the past week on Community Impact Newspaper's website.

A photo of Del Valle ISD's Cardinal stadium
Del Valle ISD approves Tesla incentives, paving way for possible Travis County agreement

The school district's July 9 vote could yield Tesla around $46.4 million in tax abatements if the company chooses Travis County as its next factory site.

Travis County has had 13,864 total confirmed coronavirus cases since the beginning of the pandemic as of July 9. (Community Impact staff)
Travis County tops 700 new COVID-19 cases for second straight day July 9

Travis County has had 13,864 total confirmed coronavirus cases since the beginning of the pandemic.