The San Marcos CISD board of trustees swore in two newly elected members during the Nov. 16 meeting.

During the Nov. 3 general election, board member Miguel Arredondo, an incumbent on the body, beat out his opponent, James Bryant Jr., for the District 1 seat, and new member Mayra Mejia defeated Nicholas Costilla in the race for the District 3 board position.

Of note, Arredondo finds himself in a situation whereby he could be leaving the board due to an anomaly brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The SMCISD election was supposed to take place in May but instead occurred Nov. 3 due to a postponement brought about early on in the pandemic. Arredondo also beat out three other candidates in a pool of five to be a top vote-getter and qualify for a runoff election in the San Marcos mayoral race, which also took place Nov. 3.

The race for the next mayor of San Marcos will continue in a December runoff with Arredondo facing incumbent Jane Hughson. Neither Hughson nor Arredondo received more than 50% of the vote, but they received the most ballots of the five candidates in the race.

In October, officials from Hays County stated Arredondo was able to run in two races during the Nov. 3 election because the pandemic led to the postponement of what was originally to be a May 2 election for SMCISD’s districts 1, 2 and 3.

If Arredondo ends up winning the runoff race against Hughson, which is tentatively scheduled for Dec. 1, he said in an email statement he would accept that position.