Editor's Note: This story has been updated to reflect that an application for Place 2 was submitted by Caitlin Leggett, but was not available on the city's website until Feb. 22.

Filings for the May 7 Round Rock City Council election show competition for only one race.

The filing window for the council election closed Feb. 18 at 5 p.m. with incumbents Hilda Montgomery and Rene Flores, having submitted packets for places 6 and 2, respectively. Caitlin Leggett filed an application for Place 2 by the Friday deadline to solidify the only contested race on the ballot.

Flores was elected to Place 2 in May 2016 and re-elected in May 2019, according to the city. He was elected mayor pro tem in December 2020. Montgomery gained her council seat in a 2017 special election and was re-elected in May 2019.

The last day to declare write-in candidacy is Feb. 22, before 5 p.m., according to the city.

Round Rock City Council members serve staggered three-year terms, and all council seats are at-large positions.