Pflugerville ISD Superintendent Doug Killian has been named a finalist for the 2022 Superintendent of the Year award that is given through the Texas Association of School Boards.

The TASB announced the five finalists via news release Aug. 29.

The four other finalists nominated are Jenny McGown, Klein ISD; Thurston Lamb, Henderson ISD; Bobby Ott, Temple ISD; and Scott Muri, Ector County.

A TASB committee interviewed 20 nominees from every region in Texas, and each candidate was evaluated on criteria including student outcome improvements, advocacy, and a continuing commitment to innovation and leadership, according to the release.

"In selecting Killian as a state finalist, the committee noted his commitment to open communications among the team of eight as well as among his campus and district administrators," the release stated. "Committee members also applauded his work in advancing equity to ensure all students have access to rigorous instruction."

The five finalists will head to next stage of the competition at a TASB convention in San Antonio on Sept. 23-25, and the winner will be named Sept. 24, according to the release.