Pflugerville officials have created a capital improvement bond committee geared toward completion of a new City Hall facility.

Council approved the seven-member committee during a July 13 meeting and agreed to appoint one committee member per council member and one alternate during a virtual meeting July 17.

Council took action during its June 22 meeting that shifted strategy away from financing the project through certificates of obligation and directed city staff to prepare for a May 2022 general obligation bond election in support of the development of a new City Hall. Council also directed staff to establish a citizen bond committee toward that goal.

However, during the July 13 meeting, officials indicated options were still open to pursue either a November 2021 or May 2022 election.

City Council will hold a special meeting July 17 at 10 a.m. to officially appoint members to the board. Initial members named during during the
July 13 meeting are Terry Newsom, Jason Kemp, Jonathan Kamenicky, Amanda Maedgen, Brad Hickman, Lisa Hall, Melody Ryan and Pat Epstein.